October 1962 : Poetry Magazine : John Allyn Berryman : Benjamin Myers

The October 1962 : Poetry Magazine has the John Berryman I was looking for, because, well, the story goes like this:

.
John-Berryman-1914-1972The other night, Benjamin Myers mentioned something about how this fellow, John Berryman, being speculated to be a very important writer in the realm of contemporary poetry. So I reckon I might as well try getting into some of Berryman’s work just to see if Myers knows what the heck he’s talking about.  (God knows I’m not getting into the stuff of Robert Creeley)

During  Myers’ reading at Cameron University the other night,  he did read– in addition to his own works– a poem by William Stafford which means that Myers might be on to something and which makes his opinion worthy in my opinion (hopefully he wasn’t just having a bad night)  Anyway, I will listen to him on this and hope for the best.

John Allyn Berryman (October 25, 1914 – January 7, 1972) was an American poet and scholar, born in McAlesterOklahoma. He was a major figure in American poetry in the second half of the 20th century and was considered a key figure in the Confessional school of poetry. His best-known work is The Dream Songs. Wiki

Hey, Berryman was from Oklahoma?  Okay, that settles it. I’m reading some John Berryman poetry now:

Dream Song 14: Life, friends, is boring by John Berryman
.
Life, friends, is boring. We must not say so.
After all, the sky flashes, the great sea yearns,
we ourselves flash and yearn,
and moreover my mother told me as a boy
(repeatedly) ‘Ever to confess you’re bored
means you have no
.
Inner Resources.’ I conclude now I have no
inner resources, because I am heavy bored.
Peoples bore me,
literature bores me, especially great literature,
Henry bores me, with his plights & gripes
as bad as achilles,  more
.
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

