I Thought this While a Bird Flickered Past

I thought this while a bird flickered past.
And for my life, I cannot recall its name
though each day I remain sad and joyless.

How I cannot forget the hours fast-
spent now and anon–hope in Niflheim.
I thought this while a bird flickered past.

Look, not a wren nor a nightingale but a fantast
above– here then gone.  Darting by unnamed
while each day I stand sad and joyless.

Look, when I reach for heaven it feels like brass.
When I kiss the earth it feels the same.
I thought this while a bird flickered past

the…(uhh, damn, sorry. I forgot what I was going to say right  here)
But each day I am sad and joyless.

Fate/time may restore a lexis lost.
I will thrive then that morning, maybe not–ashram.
I thought this while a bird flickered past
as each day remains sad and joyless.

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “I Thought this While a Bird Flickered Past

  1. I love your style. Beautiful poem.

  2. Terry M Gresham

    Thanks shrinksarentcheap. Much still needs more ironing out but at least it’s a start. Thanks again.

  3. northernmalewhite

    was the birds name david?
    thanks

  4. Terry M Gresham

    Most likely, Terry.

Leave a Reply

